The technical coordinator, Vicente Ruiz Jurado of the Atlas of Living Spain, will be responsible for supporting developers, improving technical documentation and building a shared roadmap. The administrative coordinator, Marie Elise Lecoq of VertNet, will oversee communication, explore and document governance models and create training modules.

The LA community launched two video tutorials on 18 June 2019 with the aim of enabling end-users to take full advantage of the Atlases. The videos are one key output from a project to improve documentation for the Living Atlases funded through the 2018 Capacity Enhancement Support Programme (CESP). Both videos are available in English with subtitles in French, Spanish and Portuguese.

The first video demonstrates the structure of a Living Atlas including how to search, refine and download biodiversity data.
The second video focuses on the spatial components of the Atlas including the regions module, which allows the user to find species recorded within a defined region.

The Swedish Biodiversity Data Infrastructure held its first National Coordination Group meeting in early June

The Swedish Biodiversity Data Infrastructure (SBDI) has had its first National Coordination Group meeting, during which several new opportunities for collaboration were identified.

The National Coordination Group consists of representatives from the partners in the SBDI consortium, i.e., Biodiversity Atlas Sweden and Svenska LifeWatch. Elected as Chairman and Vice Chairman of the National Coordination Group were, respectively, Matthias Obst, University of Gothenburg, and Maria Prager, Stockholm University/Karolinska Institutet.

Attendees of the first SBDI National Coordination Group, 11 June 2019

From left to right in the group photo are Maria Karlberg (SMHI), Fredrik Ronquist (NRM), Anna Rosling (UU), Anna-Lena Axelsson (video screen, big picture; SLU-SRH), Malin Werner (video screen, small picture; SLU- Aqua), Anders Telenius (NRM), Phil Buckland (UmU), Holger Dettki (SLU-ADb), Kevin Holston (NRM), Maria Prager (SU/KI), Matthias Obst (GU). Attendees not pictured are Anders Andersson and Johan Bäckman.